One of my favourites

There are many, many pictures of women and girls reading books – from Victorian times to the modern day.  But pictures of men reading are rare.  This is one of my favourites.

Image

 

Called ‘Bookworm’, it is by Carl Spitzweig and was painted in 1850.

 

 

About oncealibrarian

Retired
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One of my favourites

  1. GB says:

    I’d be very happy with that on my wall.

  2. litlove says:

    So true! This is gender discrimination – where ARE the reading men?

  3. Sartenada says:

    It’s awesome picture. I do love it.

Leave a Reply

